Recent Posts

Ighalo, Osimhen, Chukwueze, Rohr Nominated For 2019 CAF Awards

Former Super Eagles striker Odion Ighalo, Lille forward Victor Osimhen and Wilfred Ndidi of Leicester City, are among the 30-man shortlist for the 2019 CAF Men’s Player of the Year award.

The names of the nominees was published on CAF’s verified Twitter handle on Sunday.
Other notable names who also made the list are Mohamed Salah, Pierre-Emerick Aubameyang, Sadio Mane and Nicolas Pepe.
In the women’s category, three Super Falcons players made the cut. The players are Asisat Oshoala, Chiamaka Nnadozie and Uchenna Kanu.
The Youth Player of the Year 16-man shortlist has Samuel Chukwueze and national teammate Osimhen.
Super Eagles head coach Gernot Rohr is in the running for the Men’s Coach of the Year award, while Super Falcons former coach Thomas Dennerby is listed in the Women’s Coach of the Year category.
In other categories, the Super Eagles and Super Falcons are shortlisted in the Men’s National Team and Women’s National Team of the Year respectively.
The 28th edition of the annual CAF awards will take place on Tuesday, 7 January 2020, at Citadel Azure, Hurghada, Egypt.
The list of nominees is compiled by a panel of media and technical professionals.

Banner Ad